Classroom Resources

Find all the resources here that you will need to integrate StoryArts Presenters and their books into your Classroom Activities!

Enjoy!

Presenters
1.     Ailsa Wild http://ailsawild.com/

Interview re Squishy Taylor books – http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-ailsa-wild/

Teaching Notes from Booktopia –

http://static.booktopia.com.au/pdf/9781760126759-1.pdf

Book Trailer on YouTube –

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DPR2GAp-M0A

 

2.     Aleesah Darlison http://www.aleesahdarlison.com/

Aleesah’s YouTube channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/sahsie72

Interview with Aleesah

https://wordmothers.com/2016/04/07/interview-with-author-aleesah-darlison/

Teaching Notes – Puggle’s Problem

https://www.wombatbooks.com.au/images/teachersnotes/AD-Puggles_Problem-TNAustralian_CurriculumNSW.225163444.pdf

 

3.     Andrew King http://engibear.com/

Reviews and Ratings on Goodreads

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/135466.Andrew_King

Interview with Andrew

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-andrew-king/

Andrew working in Schools

http://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers/andrew-king

 

4.     Anita Heiss http://www.anitaheiss.com/

Biography

http://ia.anu.edu.au/biography/heiss-anita-17794

Video and Interview – SBS

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2017/05/23/taking-bolt-talking-literacy-author-anita-heiss-constitutional-recognition

Teaching Notes for an Aboriginal Perspectives Unit in Literature

http://macquariepenanthology.com.au/files/unit_3.pdf

Teaching Notes – Kicking Goals

https://www.blackincbooks.com.au/sites/default/files/Teaching-notes-Kicking-Goals.pdf

Teaching Notes – Our Race for Reconciliation

http://resource.scholastic.com.au/resourceFiles/8455026_66337.pdf

 

5.     Brian Falkner http://www.brianfalkner.com/

Interview

https://my.christchurchcitylibraries.com/new-zealand-childrens-authors/brian-falkner/

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/brineynine

Teaching Notes – Northwood

http://www.brianfalkner.com/ClassroomIdeas/Northwood-teachers-notes.pdf

Teaching Notes – Stubborn Seed of Hope – Yrs 9-10 English

http://www.uqp.uq.edu.au/store/images/Hi-RES/teachersnotes/1432/3887.pdf

Classroom Ideas – Brainjack

http://www.brianfalkner.co.nz/ClassroomIdeas/Brainjack-Classroom-Ideas.pdf

Teaching Notes – Shooting Stars

http://resource.scholastic.com.au/resourcefiles/8475801_65651.pdf

 

 

6.     Christine Bongers http://www.christinebongers.com/

Various YouTube interviews

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=christine+bongers

Teaching Notes – Henry Hoey Hobson

https://cdn.penguin.com.au/645/document/TR_HenryHoeyHobson.pdf

Teaching Notes – Intruder

https://penguin.com.au/books/intruder-9780857983763

Review – Intruder

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/review-intruder/

 

7.     Chris Collin http://www.funkybooks.com.au/

Interview

http://www.kids-bookreview.com/2015/04/12-curly-questions-with-author-chris.html

Interview pre Funky Chicken release

http://theindy.com.au/2013/02/14/first-time-author-honours-late-wife-with-kids-book/

Chris working in Schools

http://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers/chris-collin

Funky Chicken YouTube

https://www.youtube.com/user/Funkychicken2013

 

8.     Coral Tulloch http://bookedout.com.au/find-a-speaker/author/coral-tulloch/

12Days of Christmas with Chris Cheng

http://www.chrischeng.com/2016/12/12-days-christmas-coral-tulloch.html

About Coral

http://www.thelitcentre.org.au/author/coral-tulloch

One Small Island

       https://penguineducation.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/alison-lester-coral-tulloch-introduce-one-small-island/

 

9.     Cori Brooke http://coribrooke.com.au/

All I Want for Christmas – YouTube Interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCd4EupyeiM

Teaching Notes – All I Want for Christmas

http://www.mylittlestorycorner.com/all-i-want-for-christmas-is-rain-teaching-notes/

Teaching Notes – Max and George

http://www.lamontbooks.com.au/media/19317/April-2013-Max-George.pdf

 

 

10.  Dave Lowe http://www.davelowebooks.com/

Review – Stinky and Jinks

http://www.kids-bookreview.com/2012/11/review-stinky-and-jinks-my-hamster-is.html

Dave in Schools

http://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers/dave-lowe

 

11.  Gregg Dreise http://greggdreise.com/

Meet Gregg Dreise

http://readingtime.com.au/meet-gregg-dreise/

ABC Interview

https://open.abc.net.au/explore/156987

Teaching Notes – Silly Birds

https://www.magabala.com/media/wysiwyg/Silly_Birds-Initial_JJW_ed.pdf

 

12.  Jack Heath http://jackheath.com.au/

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/writetojackheath

Interview with Jack

http://www.kids-bookreview.com/2009/09/interview-with-action-author-jack-heath.html

 

13.  James Foley https://jamesfoley.com.au/

Interview and “In the Lion” video

http://blog.booktopia.com.au/2012/07/23/james-foley-authorillustrator-of-in-the-lion-answers-ten-terrifying-questions/

Interview

http://weloveperth.net.au/the-creative-childrens-book-author-and-illustrator-james-foley/

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/WAjamesf

Classroom Ideas – My Dead Bunny

http://classroom.walkerbooks.com.au/home/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/My-Dead-Bunny-Classroom-Ideas.pdf

Teaching Notes – The Last Viking

https://www.normanjorgensen.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/THE-LAST-VIKING-TEACHING-NOTES-WEB.pdf

 

14.  Karen Foxlee http://www.karenfoxlee.com/

Interview

https://www.readings.com.au/news/getting-to-know-our-shortlisted-authors-karen-foxlee

YouTube review – A Most Magical Girl

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5uagcryjIo

Teaching Notes – Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy

http://www.fivemile.com.au/resources/ophelia-and-marvellous-boy-teacher-notes

Interview

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-karen-foxlee/

 

15.  Kim Toft http://www.kimtoft.com.au/books/

Short Biography

http://biography.jrank.org/pages/2317/Toft-Kim-Michelle-1960.html

YouTube – Kim’s Silk Gallery

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JwfpMEBIewU

YouTube – Painting Coral Sea Dreaming book cover

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMDhzDPPuXk

Teaching Notes – The World That We Want

http://www.uqp.uq.edu.au/store/images/Hi-RES/teachersnotes/582/2822.pdf

 

16.  Lance Balchin http://www.mechanica.com.au/

Review

http://www.betterreading.com.au/kids-ya/book-of-the-week-mechanica-by-lance-balchin/

Interview and Review

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-lance-balchin/

Book Trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYO9u3Em9-8

 

17.  Lucia Masciullo http://luciamasciullo.com/

 

 

 

18.  Matt Stanton http://www.mattstanton.net/

Teaching Notes – This is a Ball

http://www.harpercollins.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/9780733334351-h.pdf

Teaching Notes – The Red Book

http://www.harpercollins.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/Teachers-Notes-The-Red-Book-Final.pdf

Review

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/author-visit-matt-stanton/

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/user/mattstan9

 

19.  Megan Forward http://meganforward.com/

Book Trailer – All I Want for Christmas is Rain

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dCd4EupyeiM

Teaching Notes – A Patch from Scratch

http://www.lamontbooks.com.au/media/63374/april-2016-ps-a-patch-from-scratch.pdf

Interview and Review

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-megan-forward/

 

20.  Michael Bauer https://michaelgerardbauer.com/

Guest Post – Writing with Michael

http://gabriellewang.com/how-writers-work-michael-gerard-bauer-guest-post/

Teaching Notes – Don’t Call Me Ishmael

https://readingaustralia.com.au/lesson/dont-call-ishmael/

You Tube – Various interviews, tips and inspirations

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=michael+gerard+bauer+

 

21.  Nadia Sunde http://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers/nadia-sunde

Website – mostly about her vocal world

http://www.nadiasunde.com

 

22.  Peter Carnavas https://petercarnavas.com/

Interview

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-peter-carnavas/

Interview Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGT1PF2xhUc

Review – The Boy on the Page

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/review-boy-page/

Teaching Notes – The Boy on the Page

http://d.site-cdn.net/916339b02a/a13ed7/the-boy-on-the-page.pdf

Teaching Notes – Last Tree in the City

http://treeday.planetark.org/documents/doc-431-last-tree-in-the-city-teaching-notes.pdf

Book Trailer – My Totally Awesome Story

https://patflynnwriter.com/2012/08/30/my-totally-awesome-story-book-trailer/

Teaching Notes – What’s in my Lunchbox

http://www.lamontbooks.com.au/media/34835/whats-in-my-lunchbox-ec.pdf

Teaching Notes – The Important Things

https://www.silvereye.com.au/documents/resources/prod3056.pdf

Teaching Notes – Multiple titles

https://www.newfrontier.com.au/teachers-and-librarians/best-sellers

YouTube – Multiple readings, interviews, demos

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=peter+carnavas

 

23.  Rebecca Johnson http://rebeccajohnson.com.au/

Reviews and Interview

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-rebecca-johnson-juliet-nearly-a-vet/

Newspaper Article

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/unsung-books-for-kids-and-teens/news-story/eb0de832c6a75da1a9026f3b5ebbef71

Interview – Goodreads

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/48805.Rebecca_Johnson

 

24.  Richard Newsome http://www.richardnewsome.com/

Reviews, Book Trailer – Billionaire’s Curse series

https://www.textpublishing.com.au/books/the-billionaire-s-curse

Video – Richard speaking about his writing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZXW54d6yWI

Video – student speaking about Billionaire’s Curse

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSikGIbC1jo

Video – Richard talking about Book 3

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11hAdLzbgzs

 

25.  Sally Heinrich http://www.sallyheinrich.com/

Profile by Carclew

https://carclew.com.au/artists/sally-heinrich

Book Trailer – One Step at a Time

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AzV46UhY2IY

Teaching Notes – One Step at a Time

https://lukandmali.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/teacher-notes.pdf

 

26.  Samantha Wheeler http://www.samanthawheeler.com.au/

Reviews and Interview

http://childrensbooksdaily.com/book-people-samantha-wheeler/

Interview

https://www.awmonline.com.au/taking-five-with-samantha-wheeler/

Samantha in Schools

http://www.speakers-ink.com.au/speakers/samantha-wheeler

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAXEpEqhVPF_x44OC6YLD8g

Review – Mr Cassowary

https://ozbooks4teachers.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/book-review-mister-cassowary-by-samantha-wheeler-university-of-queensland-press-2015/

Book Trailer – Smooch and Rose

http://rangeviewkids.global2.vic.edu.au/2016/06/21/abby-smooch-and-rose-book-trailer/

 

27.  Sandy Fussell http://www.sandyfussell.com/

Samurai Kids Website

http://www.samuraikids.com.au

Interview

http://www.kids-bookreview.com/2010/11/author-interview-sandy-fussell.html

Interview

http://trevorcairney.blogspot.com.au/2011/08/meet-author-sandy-fussell.html

Video – Sandy talks about Samurai Kids

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7IUCoRjguU

Classroom Ideas – Samurai Kids

http://www.sandyfussell.com/sf/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/Samurai-Kids-Book-1-White-Crane-Classroom-Ideas.pdf

Teaching Notes – Sad the Dog

http://www.lamontbooks.com.au/media/48308/october-2015-ps-sad-the-dog.pdf

Classroom Ideas – Polar Boy

http://www.walkerbooks.com.au/statics/dyn/1341278895598/Polar-Boy-Classroom-Ideas.pdf

 

28.  Shamini Flint Review – Inspector Singh series

https://www.theguardian.com/books/2009/may/16/inspector-singh-investigates-shamini-flint

Video Interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5l2EehxMCik

Video – Reading and Interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bx_CDlPSwLY

 

29.  Tanya Batt http://imagined-worlds.net/

Video – Catching Fish reading by Tanya

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2fblV4LJMTE

 

30.  Trace Balla http://bookedout.com.au/find-a-speaker/author/trace-balla/

Website

http://traceballa.yolasite.com

Review and Teaching Notes – Rockhopping

https://www.allenandunwin.com/browse/books/childrens/picture-books/Rockhopping-Trace-Balla-9781760112349

Teaching Notes – Rockhoping

http://www.lamontbooks.com.au/media/63455/april-2016-ps-rockhopping-online.pdf

Review and Teaching Notes – Rivertime

https://www.allenandunwin.com/browse/books/childrens/picture-books/Rivertime-Trace-Balla-9781743316337

 

31.  Yvonne Mes http://www.yvonnemes.com/

Interview

http://www.brisbanewritelinks.com/yvonne-mes.html

Interview

http://www.writingqueensland.com.au/queensland-writers-life-yvonne-mes/

 

32.  THAT Production Company http://www.thatproductioncompany.com.au/about-that/

YouTube Channel

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzHBpWYO8zuKtzLgAKAAUdw

 

33.  Narelle Oliver Exhibition https://australianculturalfund.org.au/projects/narelle-oliver-exhibition/

Narelle’s Website

http://www.narelleoliver.com